CCSD Board of School Trustees recognized by Nevada Association of School Boards

Clark County School District (CCSD) Board of School Trustees President Irene A. Cepeda was recognized with the First Term Trustee of the Year Award by the Nevada Association of School Boards (NASB) at their annual meeting. Trustee Lisa Guzman was also recognized with the Director of the Year Award.

“This award is bittersweet for me as I wrap up my first term as President of the CCSD School Board,” said Cepeda. “Serving the children of Clark County has been the honor and privilege of my life, and I look forward to supporting the school board as they continue to focus on the academic success and outcomes of our students.”

“President Cepeda has served our community honorably through the most turbulent and challenging times any of us has faced,” said CCSD Superintendent Dr. Jesus F. Jara. “As president, she served our children and community with honor, transparency, and heart. Without her leadership, we would not have accomplished as much as we did over the last 12 months, and this community will forever be better for her leadership. She is a true champion for students.”

“I have been honored to serve as a trustee for two years. I want to thank Trustee Evelyn Garcia Morales for nominating me for the Nevada Association of School Board’s Director of the Year,” said Trustee Guzman. “Trustee Cavazos originally appointed me as CCSD’s NASB director in 2021. I am surprised and honored to receive this award. I am grateful to be recognized and know that all board members that serve NASB give it their all. Thank you, NASB, for honoring me with this award.”

“Trustee Guzman’s recognition of Director of the Year shows how committed she is to representing CCSD’s needs across the state,” said Superintendent Jara. “She has represented our students’ interests admirably and ensured NASB is situated for maximum effectiveness.”

About the Nevada Association of School Boards

The Nevada Association of School Boards is dedicated to strengthening public schools through local citizen control. Established in 1963, the organization observed its 56th birthday in 2019. The Association was officially launched by Thomas T. Tucker, Jr., and representatives from all

seventeen Nevada school districts. Today all 17 school districts in Nevada are members of the association giving a common voice for public education.

To learn more about the Clark County School District visit,