11 May Honoring our educators’ dedication and inspiration during Teacher Appreciation Week

The Clark County School District honored its more than 18,000 dedicated educators during Teacher Appreciation Week: May 4-8. Teachers change the lives of children every day, and their impact extends far beyond the classroom.

Teacher Appreciation Week is an opportunity to honor those who lend their skills and passion to educating the children of Southern Nevada.

The closure of schools and social distancing guidelines obviously affected this year’s celebration, but it certainly did not dampen the appreciation and enthusiasm of the community, students, parents, and the entire CCSD community for our educators.

Here is a small sampling of the countless shoutouts to educators that could be found on social media and in news coverage:

Members of the CCSD Board of School Trustees and Superintendent Dr. Jesus F. Jara shared a video expressing their appreciation.

In a video, students at West Prep Academy thank teachers for their tireless efforts to help them become great.

Lyal Burkholder Middle School expresses its gratitude for the amazing talents of teachers.

In a news story, Channel 3 showed how Judy and John L. Goolsby Elementary School celebrated its teachers while using social distancing.

Superintendent Dr. Jesus F. Jara held separate videoconferences with five CCSD teachers and their principals, surprising the following teachers by telling them they would receive Challenge Coins for going above and beyond in making CCSD #1 for kids: Brianna Cotter of Sierra Vista High School, Clint Williams of Rancho High School, Holli Zinna-Mikell of Escobedo Middle School, and Laura van Niekerk and Rachel Vinograd of William E. Snyder Elementary School.

Click here to watch Holli Zinna-Mikell getting the news and click here to see Clint Williams receiving the honor.

As part of Teacher Appreciation Week, CCSD’s Employee and Onboarding and Development surprised six first-year teachers with presentations, announcing they had been selected as the 2019-20 New Educators of the Year.

The winners of this prestigious honor, which recognize educators in a variety of categories, are:

  • Emily Anderson of James Cashman Middle School
  • Kenneth Brown II of Sierra Vista High School
  • Ellie Edgar of Vail Pittman Elementary School
  • Alejandra Linares Sierra of Walter V. Long Elementary School
  • Brian Milburn of R.E. Tobler Elementary School
  • Brittany Wagner of Virgin Valley High School


In addition, local businesses provided a variety of special offers available for teachers.

While last week shined a spotlight on teachers, all of our 42,000 employees’ hard work and dedication on behalf of our students are very much appreciated.

CCSD thanks all employees for their daily dedication, especially in our current circumstances, to making CCSD #1forKids.