CCSD employees recognized with Starlight Awards

CCSD employees recognized with Starlight Awards

Ten educators received top honors at Evening of Excellence

More than 800 Clark County School District (CCSD) teachers, licensed specialists, support professionals, central office personnel, and school administrators were honored at the Evening of Excellence: Starlight Awards. 

“Extending appreciation to one another in the Clark County School District is essential to our students’ success,” said Interim Superintendent Dr. Brenda Larsen-Mitchell. “Honoring our employees with the Starlight Awards expresses our thanks to them and shows that we value every employee whose work focuses on student achievement.”

We honor our employees who exceed expectations and dedicate their time and energy to support our fabulous, resilient students. Nominees from every CCSD school gathered at the South Point Hotel, Casino, and Spa to celebrate the winners in ten categories.



  • Elementary Teacher of the Year: Johana Quintero, Elaine Wynn Elementary School
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year: Isaac Pineda, Jerome D. Mack Middle School
  • Support Professional of the Year: Dwayne Young, Dr. C. Owen Roundy Elementary School
  • Licensed Specialist of the Year: Sarah Garcia, Valley High School
  • Assistant Principal of the Year: Missy Shipp, Shadow Ridge High School 
  • Principal of the Year: Maurice Perkins, Charles Arthur Hughes Middle School 
  • Central Office Administrator of the Year: Rob Hutchinson, Facilities Management Director
  • Elementary New Teacher of the Year: Alexa Ching, Stanford Elementary School
  • Secondary New Teacher of the Year: Jenna Preszler, Jack and Terry Mannion Middle School
  • New Licensed Specialist of the Year: Amanda Burk, William Lummis Elementary School

Johana Quintero, Isaac Pineda and Dwayne Young were the top award winners who were each surprised with a brand new vehicle generously donated by United Nissan.

More than 35 business community members supported the event to honor the District’s hard-working employees through sponsorships at the Starlight Awards. 

Thank you to Silver State Schools Credit Union for being the Title sponsor for the event. 

Additionally, thank you to the Champion, Advocate, Contributor, and Support sponsors for making the Starlight Awards a reality. 

Champion sponsors include United Nissan, United Healthcare, NV Energy Foundation, 95 Percent Group, Edmentum, Penta, Age of Learning, and FEV Tutor.

Advocate sponsors include Las Vegas Review-Journal, Las Vegas Raiders, K-12 Insight, Let’s Talk, New York Life, One on One Learning, and Fox 5 Vegas.