07 May CCSD honors seven New Educators of the Year

As part of its celebration of Teacher Appreciation Week, the Clark County School District (CCSD) surprised seven first-year teachers the week of May 3-7 with surprise presentations, announcing that they had been selected as New Educators of the Year.  The teachers were not aware of their selection until a group of presenters, which included representatives from the school and the district’s Onboarding and Development Department conducted surprise presentations.

The employees are honored in the following six categories: Elementary Primary (PK-2), Elementary Intermediate (3-5), Middle School, High School, Special Education, Specialists and Other Licensed Professionals. The winners will receive gifts from community partners and will have their headshots on display at the Edward A. Greer Education Center for the next year

Below are this year’s recipients:

Eric Hufford: Elementary Primary at Harvey N. Dondero ES

Alyssa Bellows: Elementary Intermediate at Ollie Detwiler ES

Cassie Whitlow:  Middle School at South Academic Center

Allison Crawford: High School at Sunrise Mountain High School

Ryan Valdesuso: Special Education at Mojave High School

Jimmy Nguyen: Specialist at B. Mahlon Brown Academy

Marisa Gonzales: Other Licensed Professional (School Psychologist) at John F. Mendoza ES and Tom Williams ES