CCSD Board of School Trustees elect new officers for 2019

The Clark County School District (CCSD) Board of School Trustees elected their officers for the 2019 calendar year during a work session public meeting today. The board selected Trustee Lola Brooks to serve as president, Trustee Linda P. Cavazos to serve as vice president, and Trustee Chris Garvey to serve as clerk.

Trustee Brooks represents District E and was first elected to the school board in 2016. She most recently served as clerk in 2018.

Representing District G is Trustee Cavazos, who was first appointed to the board in August, 2017 after the seat was vacated by Trustee Erin E. Cranor. Most recently, Cavazos was elected to the board in November, 2018 to continue representing District G.

Trustee Garvey represents District B, was first elected to the board in November 2008, and was re-elected in 2012 and 2016. She also served as vice president of the board in 2015.

“It is an incredible honor to serve as CCSD Board of School Trustees president,” said Trustee Brooks. “I am optimistic for the year ahead in working with my fellow officers and members of the board to increase student achievement among our diverse community.”

To learn more about the CCSD Board of School Trustees, visit