9 CCSD students selected as National Merit Scholarship winners

Nine Clark County School District (CCSD) students from five high schools were announced as National Merit Scholarship winners.

Eight students were among 2,500 Merit Scholar designees announced Wednesday as $2,500 scholarship winners. A ninth student was previously selected as one of 1,000 corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships winners.

“CCSD students inspire me every day with their academic accomplishments, and this award reflects the success of our students in and out of the classroom,” CCSD Superintendent Dr. Jesus F. Jara said. “These students deserve all the credit for their dedication and hard work, and we wish them continued success in further pursuit of their educational goals.”

National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

62 CCSD students were named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in September 2021. They are still eligible for college-sponsored scholarships expected to be announced by the organization in June and July.

CCSD congratulates the following winners:

National Merit $2500 Scholarship

  • Jacqueline Fleur Balanovsky – Advanced Technologies Academy

  • Ethan P. Hsiao – Palo Verde High School

  • Sohini Mandal – Green Valley High School

  • Sheridan J. Rodrigues – West Career and Technical Academy

  • Sanjay Soni – West Career and Technical Academy

  • Meghana S. Sunkara – Ed W. Clark High School

  • Kayla G. Yao – Ed W. Clark High School

  • Anya H. Zhang – Ed W. Clark High School


Corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship

  • Eunice Choi – Ed W. Clark High School

To learn more about the Clark County School District, visit ccsd.net.