62 CCSD students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

62 CCSD students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

A total of 62 Clark County School District (CCSD) high school students have been selected as semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. They represent less than one percent of the U.S. high school seniors and qualify to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million to be offered next spring.

These students were among the highest-scoring participants in Nevada, and out of more than 1.5 million juniors in more than 21,000 high schools nationwide, who entered the program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which is the initial screening for program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

To become a National Merit finalist, each semifinalist and his or her high school are required to complete a detailed application that provides information about the candidate’s academic record; participation in school and community activities;  leadership abilities; employment; and honors and awards received. Merit Scholar designees will be selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and have good SAT scores on the qualifying test.

“Our students have earned a tremendous honor for themselves and their schools,” said CCSD Superintendent Dr. Jesus F. Jara. “I wish them continued success in the pursuit of scholarships and academic success and achievement.”

CCSD congratulates the following National Merit semifinalists:

Advanced Technologies Academy 

  • Jacqueline Balanovsky
  • Camila B. Beresford-Redman
  • Aaron A. Buff 
  • Manav P. Dudhia 
  • Benjamin E. Koppe
  • Timothy-Matthew C. Lim 
  • Alan V. Lucero 
  • Jack E. Marshall
  • Georgia L. Petroff
  • Christopher D. Vuong 
  • Nicholas Wong


Arbor View High School

  • Taylor N. Renneker 


College of Southern Nevada 

  • Chanceler L. Duncan 


Coronado High School

  • Elizabeth A. Ha
  • Wells W. Lee 
  • Jonah N. Lewis 
  • Sebastian Mehrzad
  • Jonathan F. Rose
  • Freya L. Zhang 


Ed W. Clark High School

  • Nikoloz Baramidze 
  • Aryaman S. Bisen 
  • Alexander Chang 
  • Amanda L. Chang 
  • Joanna H. Chi 
  • Eunice Choi 
  • Emily Dieu 
  • Alexander D. Fiore 
  • Lewis J. Hwang 
  • Yuechu L. Lu 
  • Daniyal R. Qazi 
  • Hyeonguk Roh 
  • Phillip Seo 
  • Emmett Seto 
  • Matthew J. Solomon 
  • Erqiang Sun 
  • Meghana S. Sunkara
  • Savannah E. Taylor
  • Jadyn J. Tian 
  • Kayla G. Yao 
  • Irene Yoo 
  • Anya H. Zhang 
  • Darren Zhong 


Green Valley High School

  • Robert G. Burton 
  • Jacob R. Drum 
  • Sohini Mandal 


Las Vegas Academy of the Arts

  • Kassidy H. Coon 


Liberty High School 

  • Emma V. Sanchez 


Northwest Career and Technical Academy

  • Elijah C. Hale 


Palo Verde High School

  • Ethan Hsiaoza 
  • Yixi Yang 


Southwest Career and Technical Academy 

  • Cheri K. Chan 


Spring Valley High School

  • Catherine Lee 


West Career and Technical Academy

  • Evan D. Fife 
  • Kyleigh V. Kaplan 
  • Yubin Kim 
  • Yujin Kim 
  • Rayan Laique 
  • Sheridan J. Rodrigues 
  • Katherine Son 
  • Sanjay Soni 
  • Claire Sun 
  • Suelki Yi