Nevada Department of Education logo

12 Sep Three CCSD teachers are among finalists for national education awards

The Nevada Department of Education announced today the names of the six 2017 Nevada finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Janis Dayton of Jim Bridger Middle School and Kristen Taylor of Advanced Technologies Academy are two of the four Nevada Secondary Mathematics Finalists. Heather Witt of K.O. Knudson Middle School is one of two Nevada Secondary Science Finalists. Superintendent of Public Instruction Steve Canavero said, “This the highest honor bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science teaching.”