Governor's STEM Awards May 2017

25 May Six CCSD schools named as Nevada Governor Designated STEM Schools

The Advisory Council on Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM Council) and the Governor’s Office of Science, Innovation and Technology (OSIT) recently announced that six CCSD schools have been named as Nevada Governor Designated STEM Schools. The following CCSD schools received this prestigious designation:

– Advanced Technologies Academy
– Cashman Middle School
– Clark High School
– Hyde Park Middle School
– McCaw STEAM Academy
– Walter Bracken STEAM Academy

Kate Smith Elementary School in Sparks and White Pine High School in Ely also received the designation. Gov. Brian Sandoval said, “I am impressed with the vision and leadership of the principals and teachers of these schools and am proud to honor them as the inaugural class of Governor’s STEM Schools. The knowledge and skills these children learn will benefit them throughout their lives no matter the careers they choose.” Designation as a Governor’s STEM School denotes that the school meets the highest standards of STEM instruction and is a model for schools around the state. Pictured, from left to right, are Science, Innovation and Technology Director Brian Mitchell, Magnet Coordinator Andrea Compton, McCaw STEAM Academy Principal Jennifer Furman-Born and Gov. Brian Sandoval.