10 Mar CCSD earns 24 merit awards from Magnet Schools of America

Twenty-three CCSD Magnet schools are recipients of 24 Magnet Schools of America (MSA) Merit Awards for 2016-17. Nine Magnet schools were awarded Schools of Excellence and 14 schools were awarded Schools of Distinction.

The following schools earned the 2016-17 MSA Magnet School of Excellence Award, which is the top merit award category given to a select group of Magnet schools across the nation that have demonstrated the highest level of excellence in all facets of the merit award application:

• Advanced Technologies Academy
• CVT Gilbert Magnet School
• Ed W. Clark High School
• James Cashman Middle School
• Southeast Career Technical Academy
• Thurman White Academy of the Performing Arts
• Valley High School (Academy of Hospitality and Tourism)
• Veterans Tribute Career & Technical Academy
• Walter Bracken STEAM Academy

The following schools earned the 2016-17 Magnet School of Distinction Award, which is the second-highest level of awards given to Magnet schools that have met all the basic requirements outlined in MSA’s merit awards scoring rubric:

• Canyon Springs High School
• Desert Pines High School (Academy of Communications & Information Technology)
• Desert Pines High School (Academy of Hospitality)
• East Career and Technical Academy
• Jim Bridger Middle School
• Jo Mackey Academy of Leadership and Global Communication through Technology
• K.O. Knudson Middle School
• Kit Carson International Academy
• Las Vegas Academy of the Arts
• Northwest Career and Technical Academy
• Rancho High School (Aviation Science & Technology)
• Roy Martin Middle School
• Sandy Searles Miller Academy For International Studies
• Southwest Career and Technical Academy
• West Career and Technical Academy