10 Feb CCSD announces four new Turnaround Schools, three successfully exit

Arturo Cambeiro Elementary School, Clyde C. Cox Elementary School, Tom Williams Elementary School and William E. Orr Middle School will join the district’s Turnaround Zone beginning in the 2017-18 school year.

The new Turnaround Schools were carefully selected for this additional support by district officials after a review of Nevada School Performance Framework results, student proficiency data over the past three school years and the results of one-on-one interviews with staff members about the structures, functions, processes and climate at the schools.

“I am eager to begin work with the four newest schools entering the Turnaround Zone, and I’m so pleased with the impressive results the exiting schools have attained in a relatively short period of time,” said CCSD School Associate Superintendent and supervisor of Turnaround Zone Schools Dr. Jeff Geihs. “I am confident that the structures and resources we have put in place, which have allowed schools to exit Turnaround status, will continue to successfully support the newly designated schools.”

Cimarron-Memorial High School, Sunrise Mountain High School and Elizabeth Wilhelm Elementary School will be exiting Turnaround status after demonstrating increased academic achievement, better student attendance, a renewed sense of school pride, lower rate of incidents requiring student disciplinary action and higher graduation rates for the two high schools.